Cemaes Vintage Festival &
Classic Car Show
Click here for more information
Visit the newly refurbished heritage centre in the heart of Cemaes village to discover the rich heritage of the most northerly village and parish in Wales
Cemaes Heritage Centre
Come and visit the heritage centre in the heart of Cemaes to discover the rich heritage of the most northerly village and parish in Wales.
The centre’s heritage exhibition spans two floors and interprets four heritage themes. It has a training & meeting room which is available to hire. There is a Visit Wales tourist information point located at the centre and an accessible toilet on the ground floor.
Family friendly Banc café serves delicious freshly made food, barista coffee and gluten free produce at an affordable price. Why not come and relax in our dog-friendly garden overlooking the river Wygyr. Gift shop showcasing artisan produce and crafts made in Wales opened in Easter 2016
For more information about Cemaes please visit our sister website link here where you can download the village newsletter Cemaes Voice // Llais Cemaes.
Every month one of the objects held in the centres archives or suggested to the centre by the public will feature here as ‘Artefact of the month’.
August 2016 | Artefact of the month: David Hughes Village Hall decorative bricks
These bricks were used to decorate the exterior facade of David Hughes Village Hall which was built by prolific Liverpool builder David Hughes in 1898 at a cost of £2500. David Hughes was born in Penrhyn, Cemaes in 1820. He had four siblings, was educated locally and went on to work as a clerk in Parys Mining Company where he earned 4/- (20p) per week.
He left Cemaes in 1841 and went to work for his brother as a builder in Liverpool. He soon leamed the craft, established his own business and went on to build dozens of warehouses and thousands of houses all around the Kirkdale, Everton and Anfield area of Liverpool naming the streets after his children and areas of Cemaes: Wylfa Street, Cemlyn Street, Gertrude Street etc.
David Hughes bequeathed the village hall to the community on 1 August 1899 which remains to this day a tremendous focal point for local activities and events (extract from Gwliym Iorwerth Jones' article published in issue 11 Cemaes Voice, March 2012).
Cemaes Heritage Centre will be uploading all articles and photos which appear on the artefact of the month to People’s Collection Wales // Casgliad y Werin Cymru. Please visit their site for further information. Click here.
Artefact of the month
David Hughes Village Hall decorative bricks
David Hughes Village Hall exterior
“The picturesque seaside village of Cemaes has a rich heritage just waiting to be explored.”
Summer opening hours 9.30am - 4.30pm daily
Cemaes Heritage Centre
Cwmni Cemaes Cyf.
36 High Street
Anglesey LL67 0HL
Text. 07935773986 | E-mail. firstname.lastname@example.org